Email Order

Views for Piano

by Mike McFerron

$12.00 score
Audio unavailable
Views for Piano consists of three movements and two short intermedii. The intermedio developed in the Renaissance and continued throughout the Baroque era. They were generally very short, and their character was lighthearted in nature. Similar to the English Masque, they were inserted between the acts of plays, and they consisted of short events from presentations of purely instrumental music to elaborate staged productions . The spirit of the brief episodes in Views for Piano is consistent with intermedii found in Renaissance plays and Baroque opera. That is, they provide the listener with relief from the intensity of the drama. Except for some of the harmonic language, they are not related to the larger movements.